President's Council on Diversity and Inclusion

Main Page Content

Ashton Headshot

Dr. Jennifer Ashton, Chair

Associate Professor, Education and Human Development

Office: 208 Brown Building
Phone: (585) 395-5546
Email: jashton@brockport.edu

PCDI Chair’s Statement

I am honored to serve as the 2018-19 Chair of the President’s Council on Diversity and Inclusion (PCDI). My work with campus-wide diversity initiatives dates back to 2012 when I joined the Professional Development (PD) Committee of the PCDI. Since 2014, I have represented the Department of Education and Human Development as a member, and served as the Chair of the PD Committee from 2015-2018.

As an Associate Professor of Inclusive and Special Education I have long been immersed in learning about the ways in which privilege impacts people’s experiences in society. With my focus on education, specifically disability and special education, I have seen how the intersections of race, class, gender, sexual identity, religion, and dis/ability can create complicated, mis-portrayed, and often unjust realities for many people. As an inclusive teacher educator, I try to model how engaging in difficult or uncomfortable conversations creates space for growth and change within our learning communities. I feel that it is my responsibility to bring these discussions to my classes so that my students, future teachers, are prepared to question the reproduction of narratives that perpetuate injustice so that they can act as change agents to facilitate the transformation to a more just education system for all. My work with the Professional Development Committee was a natural extension of my work in the classroom, as I assumed the familiar role of an educator in providing SafeZone, Racial Justice, and Dis/ability related workshops.

PCDI Leadership Vision

As chair of the PCDI, I will continue the work of social justice and inclusion that has become such an integral part of my personal and professional identities, but on a more systemic level. I, like my students, will now be challenged to serve as an agent of change within a larger structure to help transform our community into a more inclusive space. One of my first tasks is to spend time learning more about the membership and charter of the PCDI. I would like to broaden representation in the PCDI to not only ensure that we reflect the diversity of the college, but to include departments and programs who are not currently represented in the PCDI membership.

The work of social justice and inclusion at Brockport is ever-evolving, as structures are continually created and revised through the efforts of people who seek to make our campus climate and community more inclusive. As such, I think it is important to re-examine the existing charter of the PCDI within the context of the Strategic Plan for Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion to make sure that the PCDI is structured and positioned to support the many campus constituents and stakeholders who are already doing this vital work.  Additionally, I want the PCDI to be known campus-wide as a working group where the concerns, ideas, and voices of the Brockport community are heard, supported, and acted upon. Brockport has made it clear that the work of equity, diversity, and inclusion is an institutional priority through the Better Community Statement, the Strategic Plan for Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion, and the college’s Strategic Plan for the Future, but the work is not done.  I welcome this opportunity and look forward to being a part of Building a Better Brockport, Together.

Council Members

Kelly Anderson

Advocacy Director, Brockport Student Government
Email: kande5@brockport.edu


Dr. Cephas ArchieDr. Cephas Archie

Chief Diversity Officer, Office of the President
Office: 606 Allen Administration Building
Phone: (585) 395-5065
Email: carchie@brockport.edu


Dr. Kiera Duckworth

Diversity and Inclusion Program Coordinator, Office of the President
Office: 609 Allen Administration Building
Phone: (585) 395-5014
Email: kduckworth@brockport.edu


Mrs. Nicole DumbletonNicole Dumbleton

Associate Director Annual Giving, Development Office
Office: 307 Allen Administration Building
Phone: (585) 395-5880
Email: ndumblet@brockport.edu


Dylan George photoMr. Dylan George

International Advisor/ Recruiter, Global Education and Engagement
Office:
 Dailey Hall
Phone: (585) 395-5962
Email: dgeorge@brockport.edu 


Mrs. Tamara Gouger

Affirmative Action Officer, Affirmative Action
Office:
 3208 Morgan Hall
Phone: (585) 395-2442
Email: tgouger@brockport.edu 


John Harrichand photoDr. John Harrichand

Assistant Professor, Counselor Education
Office: 243 Brown Building
Phone: (585) 395-5495
Email: jharrichand@brockport.edu 


Ms. Ragaa Ibrahim

RISE Program Assistant, Educational Opportunity Center
Office: 418 EOC
Phone: (585) 232-2730
Email: ribrahim@brockport.edu  


aDr. Sara Kelly

Director, Residential Life and Learning Communities
Office: 124 Thompson Hall
Phone: (585) 395-2369
Email: skelly@brockport.edu


 

Dr. Karen LogsdonDr. Karen Logsdon

Assistant to the Vice President, Enrollment Management & Student Affairs
Office: 101 Thompson Hall
Phone: (585) 395-5042
Email: klogsdon@brockport.edu

 

 

 

 


Dr. John MarahDr. John Marah

Professor, African & African American Studies
Office: 201A Hartwell Hall
Phone: (585) 395-5571
Email: jmarah@brockport.edu

 

 

 

 

 

 


Margy MeathMs. Margy Meath

Visiting Assistant Professor, Social Work
Office: 574 Brockport Downtown Campus
Phone: (585) 395-8458
Email: mmeath@brockport.edu


Dr. Milo Obourn

Associate Professor, English
Office: 232 Liberal Arts Building
Phone: (585) 395-2034
Email: mobourn@brockport.edu


Deborah Olagunju

Senator, Brockport Student Government
Email: dolag1@brockport.edu


Dr. Kathleen PetersonDr. Kathleen Peterson

Professor and Chair, Nursing
Office: 106D Lathrop Hall
Phone: (585) 395-5319
Email: kpeterso@brockport.edu


Dr. Priyamvadha Rangan

Assistant Professor, Business Administration
Office: 117D Hartwell Hall
Phone: (585) 395-5572
Email: prangan@brockport.edu


Dr. Jennifer Ratcliff

Associate Professor, Psychology
Office: 137 Holmes Hall
Phone: (585) 395-2685
Email: jratclif@brockport.edu


Dr. Meredith RomanDr. Meredith Roman

Associate Professor, History
Office: 311 Liberal Arts Building
Phone: (585) 395-2010
Email: mroman@brockport.edu


Dr. Amaury Samalot-RiveraDr. Amaury Samalot-Rivera

Associate Professor, Kinesiology, Sport Studies & PE
Office: B330 Tuttle North
Phone: (585) 395-5252
Email: asamalot@brockport.edu

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


 Dr. Jessica SniateckiDr. Jessica Sniatecki

Associate Professor, Healthcare Studies
Office: 15B Hartwell Hall
Phone: (585) 395-5092
Email: jsniatecki@brockport.edu


Barbara ThompsonMs. Barbara Thompson

Director, McNair Program
Office: C-16 Cooper Hall
Phone: (585) 395-2367
Email: bthompso@brockport.edu


Sandra VazquezDr. Sandra Vazquez

Diversity Recruitment and Retention Specialist, Equity, Diversity and Inclusion
Office: 608 Allen Administration Building
Phone: (585) 395-5039
Email: svazquez@brockport.edu


Ms. Dana Weiss

Executive Director, BASC Administration
Office:
Brockway
Phone:
(585) 395-2497
Email:
dana.weiss@basc1.org


 

Mr. Dwayne Williams

Graduate Student, Health Care Studies
Email: 
dwill11@brockport.edu


Dr. Tasneem ZaihraDr. Tasneem Zaihra

Assistant Professor, Mathematics
Office: 130A Brown Building
Phone: (585) 395-2075
Email: tzaihra@brockport.edu

Last Updated 5/13/19

Close mobile navigation